Flutterby™! : Sarah Palin silliness #2

Next unread comment / Catchup all unread comments User Account Info | Logout | XML/Pilot/etc versions | Long version (with comments) | Weblog archives | Site Map | | Browse Topics

Sarah Palin silliness #2

2008-09-29 16:14:01.861099+00 by Dan Lyke 6 comments

[ related topics: Politics Humor moron ]

comments in ascending chronological order (reverse):

#Comment Re: made: 2008-09-29 16:19:45.186923+00 by: Dan Lyke [edit history]

Jack Cafferty plays a longer version of the Katie Couric interview and asks if Sarah Palin is qualified to be president, but anyone who watched the presidential debate saw this same buzzword-without-thought technique played out by John McCain[Wiki]. It astounds me that the question is being asked only about Sarah Palin[Wiki].

#Comment Re: made: 2008-09-29 16:24:52.234322+00 by: Mark A. Hershberger

McCain tried to make a case that he's your man if you are a vet. What about everyone else, though?

#Comment Re: ' made: 2008-09-29 16:39:41.920217+00 by: Dan Lyke

danlyke@danhplaptop:~$ whois voteforthemilf.com


Registrar: GODADDY.COM, INC.
Whois Server: whois.godaddy.com
Referral URL: http://registrar.godaddy.com


Domains by Proxy, Inc.
15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
United States


Okay, so we know that http://www.voteforthemilf.com/ redirects to http://www.johnmccain.com/ , and the person who set that up is maybe a little bit embarassed about the... well... crassness of the domain name so they use an anonymizing registrar. Nothing wrong with that, I understand that people who are embarassed about topics they want to put online often hide their identities, but I wonder if we can learn anything about who that up there. Let's dig a little deeper:

danlyke@danhplaptop:~$ host voteforthemilf.com
voteforthemilf.com has address

Nothing terribly revealing there, but on a hunch, let's try something:

danlyke@danhplaptop:~$ host johnmccain.com
johnmccain.com has address

Oh, looky there! They're embarassed about it, but not so much that they don't host it on the same server...

#Comment Re: made: 2008-09-29 16:59:17.340561+00 by: crasch

Hmmm....I'm getting a "malformed video id". Is youtube glitching?

#Comment Re: made: 2008-09-29 17:10:07.139773+00 by: Dan Lyke

My bad, I clipped the referrer too far: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zeMypXCUWMw

#Comment Re: made: 2008-09-29 17:46:18.583812+00 by: meuon [edit history]

And of course, it's SmartTech, here in Chattaboogie:

Address: PO BOX 11181
City: Chattanooga
StateProv: TN
PostalCode: 37401
Country: US
NetRange: -
OriginAS: AS25817
NetHandle: NET-64-203-96-0-1
Parent: NET-64-0-0-0-0
NetType: Direct Allocation